Uncategorized

24 Days of Lippie: Days 5-8

Wow! It has been quite some time since I have written on here! I guess with everything going on I just kept making excuses for myself not to do this, but I know that this is something I’ve wanted to do for a really long time so I had to stop making excuses and just sit down and write!

 

Moving on, here are my thoughts on the lipsticks from days 5-8.

 

Day 5: Backtalk- Comfort Matte

Oh my goodness this lipstick is sooooo beautiful! It’s the perfect nude color in my eyes because it still has a slightly rose undertone. I don’t really care for plain nude lipsticks because I find they look way too plain and just don’t look natural with my skintone. And that’s why this lipstick is perfect because it’s got that little hint of pink to make it more than just a plain old nude. Of course, I could be biased because I thought I looked pretty good in this shade, but I will most definitely be putting this lipstick at the top of my Sephora wish list.

Rating: 10/10

 

Day 6: Naked – Cream

This was another pleasant surprise for me as I wasn’t expecting to like this lipstick as much as I do. It’s soft, warm pink colour with a  sheer, lip-balm-like finish. It lasted for quite a while considering the cream finishes usually don’t last very well (at least not in my experience). This lipstick is definitely another addition to my Sephora wish list.

Rating: 8/10

 

Day 7: Jilted – Cream

This is a delightful berry color in a cream finish that is, of course, besides comfort-matte, one of my favorites. It did have a bit of a shimmer to it, but honestly, I didn’t mind it. It was just such a lovely color and it went really well with my green eyes, and the shimmer added more than it took away. It didn’t settle into the lines of my lips either, for which I was quite grateful. Probably not a priority on my list, but I think it’s at least earned a place.

Rating: 7/10

 

Day 8: Amulet- Metallized

13525533_714081455361099_303877932_n(1)

No. Definitely not. This lipstick just had too many things going against it to be redeemed by even the thinnest silver-lining; it was sheer. Now normally, the fact that it’s sheer couldn’t possibly be considered a redeeming quality when you like your lipsticks as bright as I do, but this lipstick was a strange shade of brown, which did not suit my skin tone, or my eyes, or my hair, so the fact that it was sheer meant that not only did it wear-off quickly, but it showed some of my natural lip color as well, so I didn’t have thick brown lipstick on my mouth. The other downside to this lipstick was that because it was metallized, it was full of shimmer, which made the whole experience of wearing this shade just a little too much for me. Had this lipstick been slightly less brown, I might have been able to deal with it, but alas, no. It just wasn’t for me.

Rating: 1/10

 
That’s it for me tonight. Hopefully it won’t take me nearly as long to write my next post. I will fight the excuse-train with crappy rom-coms from the early 2000’s that I can Netflix and only half-pay-attention-to while my fiancé plies me with Oreos as a bribe to keep me motivated.

Cheers!

Hillary

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

